jrs.org.uk » GCSE Separate Sciences


GCSE Separate Sciences

Those pupils attaining Level 6 and above in their Year 9 end of year assessment are eligible to study further science modules in addition to core and additional which are studied as standard. We use AQA Specification A which can be viewed on the web site: www.AQA.co.uk. The specification in brief:

Year 10 Core Science Year 11 Additional Science
Microbiology, human biology, homeostasis, ecology, genetics and evolution. Cells, enzymes, respiration, inheritance, plants and photosynthesis.
Year 11 Further Science
Exchange of materials, plant and animal transport systems, human effects on the environment and sustainability.
Year 10 Core Science Year 11 Additional Science
Atoms, rocks, metals, fuels, polymers, plant oils, the Earth, and its atmosphere. Structures and bonding, masses and moles, rates of reaction, energy, acid, bases and salts, and electrolysis.
Year 11 Further Science
The periodic table, calculating and explaining energy change, analytical chemistry, water, Haber process, organic chemistry.
Year 10 Core Science Year 11 Additional Science
Waves, energy transfers, energy use and resources, electricity generation, and the expanding universe. Forces and motion, electrical circuits and mains electricity, nuclear physics, work done, energy and momentum.
Year 11 Further Science
Medical application of physics, electromagnetism and mechanical aspects of physics.

One ISA or investigative skills assessment is needed for each GCSE. These are done within class time, under strict exam conditions.

The Exams   Pupils sit exams in all modules (nine in total) at the end of two year course, in June of Year 11, gaining separate GCSE’s in Biology, Chemistry and Physics. A total of three GCSE’s.