Governing Body

The Fells Federation Governing Body consists of 11 governors

  • one local authority governor
  • two Foundation governors (one of which is ex-officio the Principal Officiating Minister of the ecclesiastical parish of Coniston and Torver)
  • one staff governor
  • two parent governors
  • Head Teacher John Ruskin School
  • Head Teacher Coniston Primary School
  • three co-opted governors

The term of office for all categories of governors is four years.
The Full Governing Body meets four times a year.
Three committees meet throughout the year too.

The core functions of the governing body include, but are not limited to ensuring:

  • that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined
  • that the headteacher performs their responsibilities for the educational performance of the school
  • the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources

Current Governing Body members

Local Authority governor – Suzanne Pender
Foundation governor – Brian Streeter
Foundation governor – Helen Hoyle
Staff governor – Ian Walker
Head Teacher John Ruskin School – Peter Blackburn
Head Teacher Coniston Primary School – Danielle Fitzsimons
Co-opted governor – Charlotte Crisp
Co-opted governor – Joyce Hallam
Co-opted Governor – Chris Clarke
Parent governor – Kieron Clarke
Parent governor – Catherine Brown

Chair of Governors – Joyce Hallam
Vice Chair of Governors – Brian Streeter

Safeguarding governor – Chris Clarke
Governor with GDPR responsibilities – Brian Streeter
SEND Governor – Catherine Brown
Governor with oversight for disadvantaged children – Suzanne Pender
Finance Governor – Charlotte Crisp
Health and Safety Governor – Kieron Clarke

Finance & Resources committee

Rev. Brian Streeter – Chair
Peter Blackburn
Kieron Clarke
Charlotte Crisp
Chris Clarke
Danielle Fitzsimons

John Ruskin School Curriculum & Standards

Helen Hoyle – Chair
Joyce Hallam
Ian Walker
Peter Blackburn
Catherine Brown

Coniston Primary School Curriculum & Standards

Joyce Hallam – Chair
Peter Blackburn
Danielle Fitzsimons
Helen Hoyle
Catherine Brown

Declarations of Interests

Governing Body Declaration of Interest 2023-24

Governing Body Declaration of interest 2022-2023